Rust legacy on linux

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gintaras, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. gintaras
    Offline

    gintaras Moderator Moderator Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi,
    I'm searching how to run on linux vps i have 7Ghz server with 6gp ram
    I tryed lauch with wine but got errors GL ad DirectX i tryed install directX but no help

    i want to create server with rustbuster and allow cracked to play

    maybe someone can help to set-up server?
     
    #1
  2. DreTaX
    Offline

    DreTaX Probably knows the answer... Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    706
    http://crackedrustservers.enjin.com...wthread/12328363-rust-cracked-server-on-linux

    However a linux server is unstable afaik.
     
    #2
  3. gintaras
    Offline

    gintaras Moderator Moderator Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    9
    that tutorial dont help me maybe its problem with rust server i downloaded from this site
    rustserver+fogerite dretax maybe you can help me i can send ip and root pass only say what os to install from this list
    CentOS-5, CentOS-5 (64 bit), CentOS-6, CentOS-6 (64 bit), CentOS-7 (64 bit), CentOS-7 (Docker 64 bit)
    Debian-6.0, Debian-6.0 (64 bit), Debian-7.0, Debian-7.0 (64 bit), Debian-8.0 (64 bit)
    Fedora-20, Fedora-20 (64 bit)
    Ubuntu-10.04, Ubuntu-10.04 (64 bit), Ubuntu-12.04, Ubuntu-12.04 (64 bit), Ubuntu-14.04, Ubuntu-14.04 (64 bit), Ubuntu-15.04 (64 bit), Ubuntu-16.04 (64 bit)
     
    #3
  4. DreTaX
    Offline

    DreTaX Probably knows the answer... Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    706
    I would pick Debian, but the server files are totally fine. I can't help you setup your server on linux. Sorry.
     
    #4
    • Like Like x 1
  5. gintaras
    Offline

    gintaras Moderator Moderator Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    9
    maybe can you make tutorial? for fougerite?
    how about using virtualization? like virtualbox?
     
    #5
  6. DreTaX
    Offline

    DreTaX Probably knows the answer... Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    706
    A virtual windows works fine.
     
    #6
  7. Jakkee
    Offline

    Jakkee Plugin Developer Plugin Developer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    138
    7Ghz? Whhaaaatt?
    What cpu are you using?
     
    #7
  8. gintaras
    Offline

    gintaras Moderator Moderator Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    9
    This is VPS thay say that you get 7Ghz that mean if server have 2x8x3ghz you jist get 2.33CPU

    I louched on linux that link little helped all problems for me was that i always tryed to launch as root from putty. I tryed from VNC and worked!!! :)
    But I have other problem i dont know how to save server and shutdown
    http://prntscr.com/dumij2
    this is terminal from this is possible to save and shutdown? if not what else can i do
    if i shootdown hard items can be dublicated
     
    #8
  9. DreTaX
    Offline

    DreTaX Probably knows the answer... Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    706
    fougerite.save

    or ctrl+c directly in the console to shutdown safely.
     
    #9
  10. gintaras
    Offline

    gintaras Moderator Moderator Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    9
    ctrl + C worked tnx :)
    there is a way to edit what airdrop drops?
     
    #10
  11. tarynkelley
    Offline

    tarynkelley Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    36
    Wine is a very limited solution in my opinion. Also virtualizing something inside of a VPS doesn't work most of the time since VT-x is not available. You should get a Windows VPS.

    https://contabo.com/?show=vps (+5 Euro/month for the Windows license)

    https://www.webtropia.com/en/vps-hosting/vps-comparison.html (Free Windows license)

    Or better a cheap dedicated server:

    https://www.kimsufi.com/us/en/servers.xml

    where you can run Linux + KVM virtualisation or Windows natively http://wget.fr/

    or

    https://robot.your-server.de/order/market/country/OTHER
     
    #11
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  12. DreTaX
    Offline

    DreTaX Probably knows the answer... Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    706
    This is what i did:

    Copy
    apt-get install nano sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386 apt-get install wine:i386 apt-get install xorg apt-get install xfce4 dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg apt-get install vnc4server


    Enter "startxfce4 &" without quotes on the last line in: ~/.vnc/xstartup and save it (nano ~/.vnc/xstartup)

    Copy
    vncserver -geometry 1024×768 -depth 16

    It will ask you for password, enter it.

    (You can now connect to your desktop using a VNC client at IP:1 - port 1)

    Copy the Rust server files in /home/rust directory.

    Copy the msvcr120.dll and msvcp120.dll from GreenLuma 3.0.2 to the /home/rust directory.

    Make a start script with your text editor: nano start.sh
    Type this inside and save it: wine rust_server.exe -batchmode -nographics -hostname "My server" -maxplayers 50 -port 28015 -datadir "/home/rust/rust_server_Data/"

    Copy
    chmod +x start.sh apt-get install screen screen ./start.sh


    There you go, you installed the server and it is running now. I hope this helps!

    You can stop the VNC Server at any time with the following command:
    Copy
    vncserver -kill :1
     
    #12
  13. Makarov
    Offline

    Makarov Member Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    #13
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2018

Share This Page