Approved Fougerite MC [Deleted]

Discussion in 'Releases' started by mikec, Sep 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CorrosionX
    Offline

    CorrosionX Plugin Developer Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    16
    TY. allows me to remove several lines of code :)


    Btw, I have been trying to use
    Code (Text):
    World.SpawnAtPlayer(":wolf_prefab", Player)
    However, it still fails to spawn wolf properly and causes the Navmesh placement error. I'm guessing the above code you suggested is preferred?

    Code (Python):

    playery = GetTerrainHeight(Player.Location)
    World.Spawn(":wolf_prefab", Player.X, playery, Player.Z)
     
     
    #81
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2014
  2. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    I guess you need to tell me more about when it gets stuck. I wrote a script to test all the variations of World.Airdrop* and couldn't get one to create stuck airplanes. I spawned as many as 20 (/airdrop 20), and it was spectacular when they all intersected overhead and dropped their loads at once. Several crates went spinning. I got squished once too. It says that on console "MC MC was squished."

    I think it might be better if multiple airdrop spawns were spaced out about 1-2 seconds apart, and some fuzz added to the location so they don't directly cross each other's path.

    But I couldn't get any stuck airplanes. :(

    [​IMG]

    Code (Javascript):

    function On_Command(Player, cmd, args) {
        var test;
        var ad = 'airdrop';
        var blurt = function(s) {
            Player.MessageFrom(ad, s);
            };
        if(cmd == ad) {
       
            if(args.length == 1) {
                test = parseInt(args[0], 10);
                if(isNaN(test)) {
                    blurt('Bad test');
                    return;
                }
       
                switch(test) {
                case 1:
                    blurt('Airdrop() test');
                    World.Airdrop();
                    return;
                case 2:
                    blurt('Airdrop(3) test');
                    World.Airdrop(3);
                    return;
                case 3:
                    blurt('Airdrop(6809.0, 360.0, -4304.0) test');
                    World.AirdropAt(6809.0, 360.0, -4304.0);
                    return;
                case 4:
                    blurt('AirdropAt(6446.0, 360.0 -4667.0, 3) test');
                    World.AirdropAt(6446.0, 360.0 -4667.0, 3);
                    return;
                case 5:
                    blurt('AirdropAtPlayer(you) test');
                    World.AirdropAtPlayer(Player);
                    return;
                case 6:
                    blurt('AirdropAtPlayer(you, 3) test');
                    World.AirdropAtPlayer(Player, 3);
                    return;
                default:
                    blurt('AirdropAtPlayer(you, ' + test.toString() + ') test');
                    World.AirdropAtPlayer(Player, test);
                    return;
                }
            }

        }
    }
     
     
    #82
  3. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    I'm running your EasyAirdrop now. Just downloaded it. No problem so far.
     
    #83
  4. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    I changed your plugin to drop on me 20 planes every 20 seconds, and it took about 20 minutes for the server to crash, and I didn't get a single stuck airplane. :(
     
    #84
  5. Jakkee
    Offline

    Jakkee Plugin Developer Plugin Developer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    136
    I spawn in about 700 Planes and not one got stuck. But it has happened on my server.
    Just randomly it freezes and you can build up to it and sound of it never goes away.
    They only way to remove it is by a restart.
     
    #85
  6. DreTaX
    Offline

    DreTaX Probably knows the answer... Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    677
    Try to use the official legacy server from steamcmd and crack it if you need it with lumaemu

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4
     
    #86
  7. Jakkee
    Offline

    Jakkee Plugin Developer Plugin Developer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    136
    It hasn't happened for a while now but it was offical server files, Hosted with streamline.
     
    #87
  8. DreTaX
    Offline

    DreTaX Probably knows the answer... Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    677
    Humm. Now that you say streamline i gotta check mails for their upcoming support.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4
     
    #88
  9. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    I thought it might be planes spawning on top of each other but they don't seem to collide with other planes. If you spawn 20 at once on your location they all converge overhead like an impossible airshow and the supply drops go spinning wildly (they do collide with each other).

    In the next MC release, calling multiple airdrops adds "fuzz" to each location so they all don't converge at the same spot, and they are spawned on timers to space them out a second or two.
     
    #89
  10. Jakkee
    Offline

    Jakkee Plugin Developer Plugin Developer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    136
    When it happens it seems to happen around Mt Everust.
    That was for me, Only happened around the Mount.

    EDIT: Had a look on a rust map and the Mount is Called: Portugal Mountain
    Last time the plane was flying from Mt Everust to Mt Portugal.
    Might have something to do with location?
     
    #90
  11. CorrosionX
    Offline

    CorrosionX Plugin Developer Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yeah, I agree with this, seems its always the same spot/area. I could be a specific spawn point cause the plane to fail clip through the mountain and instead get stuck near or on it. It's odd. Glad my plugin wasn't causing the issue. Maybe I should spawn many onself while on top of Mt Everust..
     
    #91
  12. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    Interesting that it occurs near Mt. Everust. I will try to reproduce it, and if that's the association, then I'll make sure it avoids calling them in areas where they get stuck.

    Although, I ran many tests from location x= 3600, z = -5100 which I call Ballzack Corner because it is at the end of the boulder decorations on the Ballzack side of the map, at the foot of Mt. Everust. Planes clipped through the mountainside no problem, from that location.
     
    #92
  13. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    I just successfully tested spawning repeat airdrops from timers with escalating intervals. And I got my first stuck plane. :) I also got a plane stuck on a supply crate, and it drifted down to the ground. But I clip right through it.

    This is all detectable and fixable after-the-fact. I'll make the last timer check 30-45 seconds after the last plane, and despawn any planes it finds still hanging around.
     
    #93
    • Like Like x 1
  14. CorrosionX
    Offline

    CorrosionX Plugin Developer Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    16
    Glad to hear it! Very odd bug. Even eluded you for a bit XD
     
    #94
  15. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    Airdrops have a very nice distribution now. The larger the drop, the more spread out it is.

    Do not call World.AirdropAt() from a loop in your script. Your script loop can't run fast enough to spawn a multi-plane drop safely. Instead, pass it a number indicating how many you want. Stuck planes happen when you call an airdrop while another one is still in progress. But if you call them in a foreach loop in C#, it works and they all spawn at once. I added code to make sure only one airdrop is in progress at a time.

    [​IMG]
     
    #95
    • Like Like x 1
  16. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    If people want to spawn multiple airdrops at a specific set of locations, rather than at random locations, or on a player, then I can add a method that takes an array of Vector3 and spawns airdrops at each.
     
    #96
  17. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    Status report:

    1. I have not forgotten about Fougerite. Look at the Pluton github. I haven't made any commits there. Fougerite code is the only code I am working on
    2. I have fixed airdrops to avoid stuck planes and create a more pleasing distribution for multi-plane events.
    3. Rust++ chat name is customizable.
    4. Rust++ command choices work again.
    5. In the process of fixing Rust++ command choices, I broke the /i and /give commands. They don't recognize the item name.
    6. To fix this, I have written a new item name parser, which is a lot more forgiving. No quotes or capitalization is required anymore. You can abbreviate item names to the 1st three letters, if those are unique. For example "/i exp cha" give you 1 Explosive Charge while "/i explosives bp 10" gives you 10 Explosives blueprints. "/i leathervest 1" "/i lea ves" "/i leather vest 1" are all equivalent.

    I need to test #6 a bit more with the /give command, and then I am ready to release.

    Are there any other major outstanding issues with MC6 that I did not address in the list in this post? Speak up now or wait until MC8.
     
    #97
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Jakkee
    Offline

    Jakkee Plugin Developer Plugin Developer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    136
    Was /AddFriend and /share fixed?
    I think with every restart the data is lost
     
    #98
  19. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    Thank you for reminding me. I have looked at that problem but don't have a fix yet. I'll take another look this evening after testing #6 some more.
     
    #99
  20. mikec
    Offline

    mikec Master Of All That I Survey Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    59
    I believe I have discovered the reason /addfriend and /share don't work for many people, including myself on my own servers, public and private.

    If you have run a cracked server, the crack alters the SteamID stored in your avatar.bin file (changes the last digit to zero). It seems this is the ID that is applied to structures and deployables. If you updated your cracked server to the official Legacy server files, and did not wipe your map, your structures are still owned by the altered SteamID. If you updated your server and did wipe your map, but did not wipe your avatar.bin, your new structures are still being assigned the altered SteamID from the avatar.bin. I'm in this situation. My test server on my PC used to be a cracked copy. I had downloaded my save dir from my FPSplayers server to my local copy, played on the local copy and then copied it back to the public server since. So both now have a avatar.bin for me with the altered SteamID, and buildings I start today get owned by the cracked SteamID, even though there's no crack and both servers have the official Legacy server files and have clean new maps.

    I had taken a break from banging my head against the wall trying to figure this one out. I discovered the underlying problem while messing around with some other ideas. I'm going to get back to fixing Fougerite now that this blocker has been moved. Sometimes you just have to step away and let a problem sit for a while. I hope I can get a release out with this fix and the others very soon.

    Now... where was I....
     
    #100
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page